Had he the nerve to say it to her face, rather than write it for strangers

Hours from here, sleeping
I sang her a lullaby and she tiredly groaned.
no words, but I knew she meant “goodnight”
my reply was a laugh
and a dull ache

I miss you like a front tooth,
my arms feel empty and cold
my heart beats half beat half beats whole
I miss your smile,
makes my cheeks rise in tune
I miss you like tidal waves mis-judged the moon
there’s a word here, I can’t speak it
but both of us know how I feel
I’m so lonely without you,
I can’t breath with out you, for real
I just have to say this
the taste of your lips
locked my heart behind concrete and steel
the walls of your room
are my loves final tomb
’cause it died when I realised that you
were the only one he would ever need
to make this lumbering guilt ridden self deprecating man
crumble and melt and reveal
that he’s sure that he means it
so now he can say
that he loves you
so please stay awake

Leave a comment